Anwar elected MGA president; main positions unchanged


Alor Gajah, Melaka; May 22: Admiral (R) Tan Sri Dato’ Sri Mohd Anwar Mohd Nor was annointed the Malaysian Golf Association president after the Malaysian Golf Association annual general meeting and biennial elections concluded this afternoon. A total of 306 delegates casted their votes.

The challenger, who is also the president of the Royal Selangor Golf Club, obtained 150 votes to unseat incumbent Dato’ Robin Loh by  a razor-thin margin of one vote, with two votes spoilt and four abstaining. Vice-president Dato’ Haji Yaacob Mohd Kassim and Low Teck San were returned with 151 and 146 respectively, with Dr Ronnie Yeo Ngo Tee missing out by 16 votes after garnering 130.

Also re-appointed was honorary secretary Dato’ Zulkifly Mohd Said and treasurer Andrew Bryan Perera. Newcomers include Sharuddin Shariff and Ishak Mohd Esa, who were elected state representatives  for Selangor and Kuala Lumpur respectively.

Full election results

President: Admiral (R) Tan Sri Dato’ Sri Mohd Anwar Mohd Nor (Royal Selangor GC) 150 votes, Datuk Robin Loh Hoon Loi (Sabah GCC) 149 votes

Vice-presidents: Dato’ Haji Mohd Yaacob Mohd Kassim (Seremban International GC) 151, Low Teck San (Royal Perak GC) 146, Dr Ronnie Yeo Ngo Tee (Kelab Golf Negara Subang) 130, Khor Poh Waa (Staffield CR) 119, Datuk Khamis Abu Samah (Nilai Springs GCC) 21, Jaafar Mohamad (Johor GCC) 7

Hon. Secretary: Dato’ Zulkifly Mohd Said (Kelab Golf Negara Subang) 180, Nor Afendi Mohd Razlan (Staffield CR) 121

Hon. Treasurer: Andrew Bryan Perera (Kelab Golf Negara Subang) 180, Chow Chee Keong (Monterez GCC) 124

State representatives:

Perlis – none (to be elected)

Kedah – Yuzmi Mohd Yusoff (Royal Kedah Club)*

Perak – Teoh Piek Kee (Royal Perak GC)*

Selangor – Sharudin Shariff (Port Dickson GCC) 159, S. Kuldip Seine (Kelab Golf Negara Subang) 141

Kuala Lumpur – Ishak Mohd Esa (Monterez GCC) 181, Sivaganasan Kangasu (Kelab Darul Ehsan) 114,

Negeri Sembilan – Shanjoy Roy Choudhury (Seremban International GC)*

Melaka – Mohd Rom Muslim (Ayer Keroh CC)*

Johor – Manjit Majid Abdullah (Johor GCC)*

Terengganu – Khalid Emran Yusoff (Kuala Lumpur GCC)*

Sabah – George BH Bandusena (Sutera Harbour GCC) 186, Abdul Razak Awang (Sabah GCC) 114;

Sarawak – Brian Chien (Kelab Golf Sarawak)*

* returned opposed