Nachi, Ilyia tied for Penang lead

Nachimuthu Ramasamy ©Arep Kulal|PGM
Nachimuthu Ramasamy ©Arep Kulal|PGM

Georgetown [PENANG]: Nachimuthu Ramasamy grabbed a share of the lead in the Professional Golf of Malaysia (PGM) Penang Championship on Friday.

The Tour veteran carded a third round five-under 67 at Penang Golf Club to join overnight leader Ilyia Jamil on 10-under 206. The latter, who nosed ahead after the second round yesterday, shot a 70 to keep alive his hopes of a first win on Tour since winning the Kinrara Classic 2011 on his professional debut.

Khor Kheng Hwai shot a 67 of his own to climb into third place on 209, while Kenneth De Silva – third at last week’s I&P Group Championship – returned with a 71 to join Mohd Amli Mohd Mohiyedeen (71) in joint fourth place – a stroke off the pace at the RM180,000 tournament co-sanctioned with the ASEAN  PGA Tour.

Chasing a second title after clinching the Kelantan Championship in March, Nachimuthu said: “I played well today and am pleased to be in a share for the lead. There is still one round to go, so there is still a lot of golf to be played.

“But I won’t be changing anything tomorrow – I’ll just go out there and try to do what I did today and the past two days, which is be patient and see how things develop,” shared the former Order of Merit champion.

Twenty-four year-old Ilyia said: “It’s been a while since I last won and I’ll be trying to do it again here tomorrow. I’ve played steady golf so far this week and I’m happy with where my game is. Tomorrow, of course, is the important day because that’s when it really counts.

“So I’ll try to play the same as I have done these last three days and hopefully it will all come together,” he added.

Leading third round scores (Par-72)
Malaysian unless stated
206 – R Nachimuthu 68-71-67, Iylia Jamil 67-69-70
209 – Khor Kheng Hwai 71-71-67
210 – Kenneth De Silva 68-71-71, Mohd Amli Mohd Mohiyedeen 71-68-71
211 – M Sasidaran 66-73-72, Nicholas Fung 70-67-74
212 – Mohd Azman Basharudin 75-69-68
213 – Airil Rizman Zahari 75-71-67, Nattawat Suvajanakorn (THA) 71-69-73, Mohd Sukree Othman 70-69-74
215 – Lam Yu Shuen 73-73-69, Lim Eng Seng 76-68-71
216 – Kemarol Baharin 72-74-70