Iylia rings in birthday with Darulaman win

Iylia Jamil tastes victory for the first time on the PGM Tour since his rookie win in 2015 ©Arep Kulal|PGM Tour

Alor Setar [KEDAH]: Iylia Jamil ensured a big birthday celebration after cruising to comfortable four-stroke victory at the Professional Golf of Malaysia (PGM) Darulaman Championship on Saturday.

Armed with a three-shot overnight lead, Iylia carded a closing three-under 69 to finish on 15-under 273 at the Darulaman  Golf & Country Club.

Khor Kheng Hwai, who led the RM180,000 tournament at the halfway stage, returned with a 70 to settle for second.

Wilson Choo (69) and R. Nachimuthu (70) were a further shot back on 10-under 278, while Abel Tam signed for the low round of the day with a five-under-par 67 to finish sole fifth.

Capturing his second victory on the flourishing domestic circuit, Iylia had every reason to smile, more so with him turning 25 years old on Thursday.

“It really does feel great to win here because this is like my birthday present. I am just pleased that I have won again. I’ve played some golf this season but was not able to close out any of the events when I was in contention.

“But here I went all the way and I’m really very happy,” said the former national, who famously won the PGM Kinrara Classic in 2011 on his professional debut.

Despite coming up just short, Khor too said he was happy with his week’s performance.

“I played well this week as I struck the ball solidly but I didn’t get some of the putts to drop over the last three rounds and that made a difference,” shared the 31-year-old Penangite, who had set a blistering pace with an opening seven-under 65.

Leading final results (Par-72):
273 – Iylia Jamil 70-68-66-69
277 – Khor Kheng Hwai 65-71-71-70
278 – Wilson Choo 71-71-67-69, Nachimuthu Ramasamy 70-69-69-70
280 – Abel Tam 74-69-70-67
282 – Kenneth De Silva 71-70-72-69
284 – Zurie Harun 73-71-71-69, Jeremiah Kim Leun Kwang 74-68-70-72
285 – Akhmal Tarmizee Nazari 70-70-73-72
287 – Muhd Azry Asyraf 73-69-75-70
288 – Muhd Wafiyuddin Abd Manaf 71-75-72-70, Shaaban Hussin 72-72-70-74