Maybank Championship trophy unveiled

RSGC president Tan Sri Yong Poh Kon and Maybank chairman Tan Sri Dato’ Megat Zaharuddin Megat Mohd Nor with the new Maybank Championship Malaysia trophy

KUALA LUMPUR: Darren Clarke, Matthew Fitzpatrick and Victor Dubuisson will challenge for the specially-commissioned Maybank Championship Malaysia trophy when the event gets underway in a fortnight.

Maybank chairman Tan Sri Dato’ Megat Zaharuddin Megat Mohd Nor and Royal Selangor Golf Club president Tan Sri Yong Poh Kon unveiled the trophy during a press conference on Tuesday.

The trophy, which was conceptualised by Maybank and created by the Royal Selangor, is a modern sculptural art form of the “Tiger”, an eminent symbol of Maybank. Weighing nearly five kilogrammes and measuring 550mm (H) x 340mm (W) in height, the trophy is crafted out of pewter on a wooden base.

The “Tiger” is a notable brand mark of Maybank and a symbol of Malaysian national pride. With the trophy we aim to illustrate the best of the Maybank Championship Malaysia – ‘courageous, creative and collaborative’ – whilst playing our role in nurturing the pursuit of professional excellence in the game of golf, now across ASEAN countries,” said Megat Zaharuddin.

Yong, who is also the chairman of chairman of Royal Selangor International added, “We are honoured to have been commissioned as the official trophy maker for the Maybank Championship Malaysia, and together with Maybank, we have created a work of art.

“The intriguing design of the “Tiger” coupled with our intricate craftsmanship, have created a new milestone in the arena of golf trophies in Asia,” he noted.

Maybank Championship Malaysia trophy
Maybank Championship Malaysia trophy

Crafted with meticulous attention to detail, Royal Selangor’s specially-designed trophies are recognised as accolades that befit the world’s top achievers. The company has previously crafted trophies for other high profile events such as the Formula 1 Grand Prix races in Singapore, Malaysia as well as the Sime Darby LPGA Malaysia golf tournament.

Following the unveiling of the trophy, Tan Sri Dato’ Megat also announced the participation of the 2016 EurAsia Cup captains, Clarke and Singh, along with Fitzpatrick and Dubuisson who join a previously announced stellar cast which includes Martin Kaymer, Louis Oosthuizen, Danny Willett, Thongchai Jaidee and Kiradech Aphibarnrat.

“The presence of these four renowned players adds to the attraction of the player field at the Maybank Championship Malaysia,” said Megat Zaharuddin. “I am pleased that so far, seven of the top 50 world-ranked players will be at the tournament.”