Dufner tops Major-winning draws for Classic

Jason Dufner ©Gregory Shamus|Getty
Jason Dufner ©Gregory Shamus|Getty

Kuala Lumpur: CIMB Group announced today the confirmed list of PGA Tour players who will tee off at the fifth edition of the CIMB Classic at Kuala Lumpur Golf and Country Club from October 30 – November 2.

The list includes 2012 FedExCup champion Brandt Snedeker, 2013 PGA Championship winner Jason Dufner, 20-time PGA Tour winner Davis Love III as well as six other Major winners.

Along with Dufner and Love, other Major winners in the field are Mike Weir (2003 Masters), Stewart Cink (2009 Open Championship), and South Africans Retief Goosen (2004 & 2009 US Opens), Trevor Immelman (2008 Masters), Louis Oosthuizen (2010 Open Championship) and Charl Schwartzel (2011 Masters).

Also included in the field are up and coming players who have recently broken through the global scene – newly named PGA TOUR Rookie of the Year Chesson Hadley from USA and Web.com Tour Player of the Year Carlos Ortiz from Mexico.

They join a previously announced cast of international stars including reigning FedExCup champion Billy Horschel, World No. 3 Sergio Garcia, US Ryder Cup team top scorer Patrick Reed, Hideki Matsuyama and Ryo Ishikawa from Japan, Chinese teenage phenom Guan Tianlang, as well as Lee Westood from England.

In total, the field includes 42 players who have won a total of 142 PGA Tour events including nine Major championships and five Players Championships. In addition, 23 players have won 148 other events worldwide.
“Five years on, the CIMB Classic has matured into a staple event in the global golf calendar. We’re happy with the tournament’s sustainable appeal and the depth and diversity of this year’s field,” said Effendy Shahul Hamid, Group Chief Marketing & Communications Officer of CIMB Group.

“This is wonderful news for Malaysia and speaks volumes about the country’s ability to stage world class sporting events. We now look forward to a great tournament at the end of the month,” added Effendy.