Two-way battle for MGA presidency

Kuala Lumpur; May 9: A battle royale is on the cards after the nomination period for the Malaysian Golf Association’s biennial election closed late this evening. Industry observers are predicting a heated contest with a good mix of experienced and fresh candidates making a bid for a place in the association’s executive committee for 2011-2013.

Datuk Robin Loh is going for a second-term in office

Sitting president Datuk Robin Loh Hoon Loi (Sabah GCC) will defend his position against challenger Admiral (R) Tan Sri Dato’ Sri  Mohd Anwar Mohd Nor, who is the president of Royal Selangor Golf Club, during the association’s Annual General Meeting set for May 22 at the A’Famosa Golf Resort.

It will be the second time in the association’s history that the duo will be contesting for the same position, after Tan Sri Anwar failed in his bid for the vice-presidency in 2007.

An unprecedented six nominations were also received for the two vice-president slots, with incumbents Dato’ Haji Mohd Yaacob Mohd Kassim  and Low Teck San defending their position against Jaafar Mohamad, Khor Poh Waa, Dr Ronnie Yeo Ngo Tee as well as former honorary secretary Datuk Khamis Abu Samah, who is making a comeback after a four-year hiatus.

The position of honorary secretary will see businessman Nor Afendi Mohd Razlan attempting to unseat incumbent Dato’ Zulkifly Mohd Said while current officeholder Andrew Bryan Perera will go head-to-head against Monterez GCC general manager Chow Chee Keong for the position of honorary treasurer.

According to the MGA’s constitution, any ordinary  member of a golf club affiliated with the association can stand for office bearer positions as long as they are nominated and seconded by an affiliate club. An affiliate club with less than 1000 members get a vote, with a maximum of five votes per club.

List of nominations – MGA executive committee elections

President: Datuk Robin Loh Hoon Loi (Sabah GCC), Admiral (R) Tan Sri Dato’ Sri  Mohd Anwar Mohd Nor (Royal Selangor GC)

Vice-presidents: Dato’ Haji Mohd Yaacob Mohd Kassim (Seremban International GC), Low Teck San (Royal Perak GC), Jaafar Mohamad (Johor GCC), Khor Poh Waa (Staffield CR), Dr Ronnie Yeo Ngo Tee (Kelab Golf Negara Subang), Datuk Khamis Abu Samah (Nilai Springs GCC)

Hon. Secretary: Dato’ Zulkifly Mohd Said (Kelab Golf Negara Subang), Nor Afendi Mohd Razlan (Staffield CR)

Hon. Treasurer: Andrew Bryan Perera (Kelab Golf Negara Subang), Chow Chee Keong (Monterez GCC)

State representatives: Perlis – none; KedahYuzmi Mohd Yusoff (Royal Kedah Club); Perak – Teoh Piek Kee (Royal Perak GC); Selangor – S. Kuldip Seine (Kelab Golf Negara Subang), Lee Boon Seong (Damai Laut GCC), Sharudin Shariff (Port Dickson GCC); Kuala Lumpur – Sivaganasan Kangasu (Kelab Darul Ehsan), Ishak Mohd Esa (Monterez GCC); Negeri SembilanShanjoy Roy Choudhury (Seremban International GC); Melaka Mohd Rom Muslim (Ayer Keroh CC); Johor – Manjit Majid Abdullah (Johor GCC); TerengganuKhalid Emran Yusoff (Kuala Lumpur GCC); Sabah George BH Bandusena (Sutera Harbour GCC), Abdul Razak Awang (Sabah GCC); Sarawak – Brian Chien (Kelab Golf Sarawak)

* incumbents in italic

Source: Malaysian Golf Association